



Measure "M" Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee

Minutes - Tuesday, May 7, 2019 Meeting

I. Matt Best called the meeting to order at 6:05pm. Quorum established: Nine members present: Grace Bassett, James Belenis, Jacques Franco, Bret Hewitt, Linda Lingbloom, Ken Nason, Donna Neville, Eric Roe, and Ted Tucker.

Staff Present: John A. Bowes, Ed.D Superintendent, Bruce Colby, Chief Business and Operations Officer, Matt Best Deputy Superintendent, David Burke Director of Facilities, Maintenance & Operations, Maureen Poole, Facilities Specialist, Corina Galicia, District Department Administrative Assistant, Mallory Arevalos, Supervisor of Accounting and Budget, Janet Meuller, Dannis Woliver Kelley (DWK), Attorneys at Law, and Jeff Jensen, Crowe LLP.

II. Bruce Colby and Janet Mueller Review the Roles and Duties of Committee

- 1. Measure M Passes in November 2018 for \$150.9 million for a period of 8 years
- 2. Described Measure M Bond and background
- 3. Nine members appointed by law: all required positions filled
- 4. Purpose of Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee (CBOC) to inform and report expenditure to the public
- 5. Board Policy and Regulations Review
- 6. CBOC review annual financial audit and inspect bond projects
- 7. Permissible bond based salaries
- 8. Discussed the Brown Act Quorum Guidelines
- III. David Burke Measure M Program Project Review, Presentation
 - 1. Funding and budget report
 - 2. State compliance and legal terms
 - 3. Construction escalation concern for Measure M future projects
 - 4. Report on how expenditures meet Measure M requirements
 - 5. Breakdown of Program Funding
 - 6. Measure M Future Projects data and status
 - 7. Division State Architects (DSA) Process
 - 8. Master Plan information available on website
 - 9. David suggested a site visit for CBOC members to view progress on projects.

May 29, 2019 Page 2

> IV. Election of Officers: Linda Lingbloom nominated Donna Neville Committee for Chair MSC: (Lingbloom/Roe) The motion was passed by the following votes: Ayes: 9 Noes: None Abstain: None

Donna Neville nominated Eric Roe Vice Chair for one-year term MSC: (Neville/ Hewitt) The motion was passed by the following votes: Ayes: 9 Noes: None Abstain: None

- V. Approved Future Meeting, Dates and Times: June 2019 date and time to be determined.
- VI. Public Comment Regarding Items not on the Agenda: There was no public comment.
- VII. Future Agenda Items
 - 1. Project Status Update
 - 2. Overview School Construction
 - 3. Budget Reports
 - 4. Expenditure Reports
 - 5. Budget Strategy Reports
- VIII. Meeting Adjourned 7:55pm