Parcel Tax History 

Davis voters approved their first parcel tax in 1984.  That year district voters passed a ballot measure which allowed the district to tax property owners a per parcel assessment to raise money for public schools. The original measure requested authorization for an assessment of $45 per parcel for a term of 4 years.  Since then, the parcel tax has been renewed every four years and additional measures have been approved to alleviate program cuts due to loss of state funding.  

In November 2016, Davis voters passed Measure H Parcel Tax, an eight-year parcel tax. Measure H will generate approximately $10 million per year to support quality schools and maintain educational programs and services on every campus. Without the parcel tax, DJUSD could not sustain the enrichment and choice that is the hallmark of our district. 

Parcel Tax Thank You

Parcel Tax Oversight Committee

2019-2020 Parcel Tax Oversight Committee

Jim Andrew
Natalia Baltazar
Michelle Cabrera
Lea Darrah
Grace DeMasi
Tanya Lieberman
Chian He Ohler
Chuck Rairdan
Darien Shanske
Elaine Talley

The Parcel Tax Oversight Committee is comprised of community members who are nominated to serve by Board of Education Trustees. The committee provides a specific accounting of how the parcel tax money is spent.   An annual report is presented each year at the first Board of Education meeting in February. 

Parcel Tax Programs and Services

Programs and Services Funded by Parcel Taxes

Math and reading programs
Elementary science instruction
Reduced class sizes
Secondary foreign language programs
Music programs
Athletics and co-curricular programs
School counselors, nurses and student support
Measure H Tax Exemptions

Tax Exemptions

Some property owners may be eligible for an exemption from the tax.  To qualify for a senior exemption, you must be 65 year old and the property must be your primary residence.  There are also exemptions for property owners receiving Supplemental Security Income or Social Security Disability Income.  Applications for the 2020-21 
tax year are available here.